top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndras Fujimoto

Saying Goodbye: Reflections on a Life-Changing Experience

Updated: Feb 15, 2023

As the conclusion of my study abroad program approaches, I cannot help but feel a range of emotions. I'm eager to come home and reunite with my family and friends, but I'm sad to leave the friends I met and the experiences I had in Europe. Here are some reflections on my time abroad and some tips for coping with the transition.


Reflecting on the Experience

For me, studying abroad has been a life-altering experience. I was able to learn about a new culture, interact with individuals from all over the world, and discover new areas. I faced my fair share of difficulties as well. The language barrier, homesickness, and culture shock were all challenging at times, but they forced me out of my comfort zone and aided in my personal development.


The ability to travel was one of the highlights of my study abroad program. I traveled to cities and landmarks that I had previously only seen in photographs or read about in novels. I sampled new foods, listened to new music, and studied the history and traditions of the countries I visited. I also had the opportunity to study subjects I was interested in, in an interesting new environment.




Managing the Transition

As I prepare to depart France, I know returning home will be difficult. Here are some tips that helped me adjust to the change:

- Stay in touch with the friends you made while studying abroad. Exchanging contact information and making future travel arrangements is important! My exchange friends became my second family.

- Consider what you learned and gained throughout your time overseas. Documenting your ideas and emotions will help you process your experience.

- Appreciate your native culture and the things you may have taken for granted before traveling abroad.

- Maintain your connection to your host country by keeping up with its news and cultural events.


Final Reflections

One of the most fulfilling experiences of my life was studying abroad. I feel like I've matured as a person, and I've made lifelong memories and friendships that I will cherish for the rest of my life. These were all of the aspects I envisioned which made me decide why I wanted to study abroad. As I prepare to leave Antibes, France, I am extremely glad for all of the opportunities and experiences I have gained during my time here. The whole thing felt like a dream that ended too soon, but a dream that will always come back.




2 views0 comments
bottom of page